This is my first mashup, and in true Southern Comfort style I have to associate it to a food in some way.  There’s nothing better than a good helping of mashed potatoes to go with some turnip greens, fried chicken, and corn bread.  Excuse me while I wipe drool off of my keyboard……now then, I’m back.

I have read so many great blogs this last week that it’s a little overwhelming.  I’m afraid to miss any because they’re all so good, and I hope you can take the time to read the blogs of these great friends and writers.  Before we start the mashup, I would like to tell you a quick story from my travels last week.

I flew from St.  Louis to Buffalo Monday morning and the skies looked ominous when we had a layover in Baltimore.  As we turned into the terminal I saw this beautiful rainbow against a dark gray sky.  I couldn’t resist taking a quick picture with my cell phone.

 

It was really cool, and the photo really doesn’t do it justice.  I’m in a great mood, but I get off of the plane and make a wrong turn trying to get from Concourse A to Concourse B.  Yes, I went past the security line before I realized I was out of the terminal.  ARGHHHHHH!!!! I was livid. 

The reason I made a wrong turn was a “Skyway B” sign, but I associated it with Concourse B.  Bad assumption.  So here I am with about 35 minutes before my connecting flight leaves.  I travel quite a bit, so I didn’t panic, but I was fuming, griping, and complaining in my head.  It was probably a good thing people couldn’t read my thoughts, or they would have covered their children’s ears and run for cover.  So I make it through security and to my gate on time.  When we get on the plane, it taxies out to the tarmac and we sit there, and sit, and sit.  I am really steaming now.  I’m thinking to myself that this day really sucks. 

As I’m cooling my heals on the plane, I look to my right and see a young mother, with red curly hair, taking care of two small Asian boys.  The father may have been Asian, but I’m betting she adopted these two little guys.  I’m thinking, what a great thing to do.  Then she turned toward me and I realize her left arm stops about half way between the elbow and where her wrist should be.  Now I’m really impressed.  I know how hard it was for me to change diapers with both hands, so I can only imagine how hard it is for her to change her son’s diapers with one hand.  Anyway, I’m feeling pretty bad at this point, because I realize the petty inconvenience I have just gone through is just that, petty.  Then I hear her ask her youngest son if he wants her to take off his Crocs.  When she does, I notice his feet aren’t fully formed, and then I realize his hands aren’t either.  I’m thinking this woman probably adopted this boy not in spite of his physical problems but because of them.  Not only can she sympathize with him, but she can empathize and instruct him on how best to deal with the problems he will face in life.  Amazing. 

I look outside my window and the clouds are still dark, like they were when I previously saw the rainbow.  These boys have a rainbow too.  It delivered a pot of gold in the form of this wonderful woman who loves them unconditionally for who they are.  And that woman is now their mother.  It just doesn’t get any better than that.  No, today doesn’t suck after all.

So, let’s get this mashup going.

The first is a very special blog by Piper Bayard.  This is a heartfelt blog by one of the nicest people I’ve had the pleasure to meet on the Internet.  We. Are. At. War. « Author Piper Bayard

This post from Jenni Holbrook-Talty really got to me.  I’m not sure why, but I think it is because it came from the struggle she is having with her current WIP.  I HOPE you like it as much as I did.  Where there is hope…there is despair…where there is despair…there is hope.

Very cool blog about real people that lived long ago.  Where did they come from, why were they so small?  Check out Gene Lempp’s next installment in his “Designing From Bones” series.  Of Hobbits and Pygmy Elephants « Gene Lempp’s Blog

One of my favorite lines in cinema, as well as one of my favorite scenes in a movie.  See how Bob Mayer ties “Coffee is for Closers” into your writing career.  Remember, Writers: Coffee is for closers. | Bob Mayer’s Blog

Kristen Lamb and Piper Bayard tag teamed this blog.  Is there a 12-step program for killing off your little darlings?  Guinea Pig Diaries: Little Darlings Anonymous « Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Okay, I’ll tell you ahead of time that Carrie Spencer, of Kick Ass Romance fame, is quirky….okay, maybe a little sick….oh alright, she’s a lot sick, but I like her anyway, or probably because of it.  Regardless, nothing to drive my point home better than having her share her obsession with cocktail shakers.  Shake it Baby – The Wonderful World of Cocktail Shakers | | Carrie Spencer Author – Romance with a Mule KickCarrie Spencer Author – Romance with a Mule Kick

Jami Gold’s blog is always filled with…well…GOLD.  No exception this week.  Jami gives us a deep dive into what to think about when putting together your author bio.  What Does Your Author Bio Say about You? | Jami Gold, Paranormal Author

Sonia Medeiros does a great job of telling us about Hannibal Lecter in her blog.  Does an antag get any better than HL?  Quid Pro Quo – Hannibal Lecter

Are you a comma?  I hope I am.  Check out Jill Kemerer’s blog.  I’m a comma.

WARNING TO MEN – DO NOT MAKE SNARKY REMARKS ON THIS BLOG POST.  Check out Angela’s take on why women need each other.  Angela Orlowski-Peart: It Takes A Village To Make A Woman Happy

Sometimes the best things, and stories, are right under our nose.  Check out what Donna Newton found on a bike ride close to home.  What Ideas Are On Your Doorstep? « Donna Newton’s Blog

Do you want a good chuckle?  Check out Clay Morgan’s ink in Tatted Up « EduClaytion

A look at the long and winding road to personal branding by Lesann Berry.  Lesann Berry’s Blog: Branding is Tricky

Immediately after reading Lesann’s branding blog, I went to Shea MacLeod’s blog.  Watch the video, and you’ll see that Subaru “gets” branding.  My Brain is Dead. Long Live My Brain. | Shéa MacLeod, Author – Everything’s Better With Dragons

What “little” pleasures remind you of the “BIG” story?  Check out Ali Dent’s blog.  What Do Legos, The Gnome Mobile, and Alice and Wonderland Have in Common?

Great blog on a mystery writer from “way back.”  Check out Kathy Owen’s blog.  You’ll be glad you did.  K.B. Owen, mystery writer » Blog Archive » Decius Caecilius Metellus the Younger, Master of Mystery

Kristen Lamb shows why back story will kill a novel.  Deadly Sin of Writing #4–Beware the Bog of Back Story « Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Shellie Sakai found the perfect coffee mug for those of us who want people to leave us the heck alone.  Just tell them to read the cup.  Perfectly wicked | Shellie Sakai

Virginia Ripple shares a cute story about her toddler and a plastic mouse.  Of Mice And Toddlers « Virginia Ripple’s Blog

Great review by Pyro Terrell Mims on “My Name Is Khan” Tuesday Thoughts: My Name is Khan Review « Terrell Mims University

What do we need to give up, and what did Susan Bischoff give up?  I have too much crap | Hunting High and Low

Kristen just cracks me up.  When she puts on her “I’m somebody else” hat, you know it’s going to be funny.  Remember when she was verklempt?  Now she’s Dr. Ruth, er Twuth.  Dr. Twuth–Overloaded in TX & Muddling in the Midwest « Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Get into the “handouts before or after a presentation” debate with Clay Morgan.  Handouts for Presentation: Before or After? « EduClaytion

Are we all creative?  Maybe not.  Check out Susan Bischoff’s take on it.  I Want To Think We’re All The Same. What Happens If We’re Not? and #ROW80 too | Hunting High and Low

Kristen Lamb talks about why selling books is a unique marketing proposition.  Wait, how many blogs do I have of Kristen?  Oh yeah, ALL of them.  They’re all great.  The WANA Theory of Book Economics–Why Traditional Marketing Doesn’t Sell Books « Kristen Lamb’s Blog

Here’s another one from Carrie Spencer too.  She’s crazy, but she knows her stuff, or I guess Woodie does, when it comes to WordPress.  RSS Feeds and Email Notifications – Woodie Knows WordPress | | Carrie Spencer Author – Romance with a Mule KickCarrie Spencer Author – Romance with a Mule Kick

Just hilarious.  Check out “Cats With Thumbs” and the “Swagger Wagon” (another good branding video) in Kathy Owen’s blog of Belly Laughs.  K.B. Owen, mystery writer » Blog Archive » Watercooler Wednesday: belly laughs

Great blog for animal lovers.  See Cheryel’s post. Cheryel Hutton: Heart Melting Linkage

Okay, this is just wrong Piper.  The End is Near (and we deserve it). . . . 94-yr-old Zha Zha Gabor a Mother Again? « Author Piper Bayard

Kate MacNicol has two of my favorite foods in this post, chocolate and mangos.  Microwave Love « Kate MacNicol~

Tired of being put in a box?  So is Diana Murdock.  Check out her take on other people’s expectations.  My Life Is One Big –Ish « Diana Murdock’s Blog

I personally think this title is redundant.  Do you have a FB stalker Clay?  When Facebook Gets Weird « EduClaytion

What can we learn from a 19th century advice?  Kathy Owen tells us in Flashback Friday.  K.B. Owen, mystery writer » Blog Archive » Flashback Friday: 19thc Advice