Welcome to Sweet Tea Tuesday. Fall is in the air, so the front porch always has someone coming over to sit and relax for a while. I’m glad you came over today. Have a seat and here’s a glass of iced tea for you. ~clink~

Today I’d like to talk for a few minutes about fishing. My question is, “Why do so many people enjoy it?” I mean it involves slimy critters that squirm and wiggle when you put them on the hook, to catch a fish that is wet and not too friendly when you try to take him off the hook. You’re cold or hot most of the days you’re out there. To catch the best time of day to fish, you have to wake up before any human would want to. You battle mosquitoes, flies, snakes, and other undesirables to get the chance to catch the fish. At a minimum you’re going to have to buy a license, pole, line, and bait, which is pretty economical fun. However, most of the fishermen I know spend more on boats than they do on their ground transportation. That doesn’t include gas, oil, numerous poles and reels, a trunk full of lures, and various gadgets to try to outfox a fish.

So why do we do it? Rather than list out the many reasons I enjoy it, I’m just going to list my favorite aspect of it, and then let you tell me yours.

For me, the most enjoyable part of it is the time spent with my dad. This was true when I was a kid but even more so now. You see, I truly believe my father enjoys fishing more than anyone I’ve ever known. He eats, breathes, and sleeps fishing. Always has.

I live about five hours from my mom and dad, and I only fish 2-3 times a year with him now. When I do, it’s almost like I go back in time to when I was a kid and he is my hero. Sure, I know all his flaws now, even though he doesn’t have many, but it still takes me back. We’ll go to the lake, and he knows every bush, stump, drop off, and submerged road bed we come to. He’ll tell me about the first big fish he caught off of a stump, the last fish he lost on a buck bush, or where a friend told him about catching “a nice one” a week or so before. For the really big fish stories, I’ve already heard them a hundred times, but it doesn’t matter. I laugh at the same punch lines, and nod and say “yep” at the appropriate times. It’s all part of the dance that is a day on the lake.

So why do I enjoy fishing? Because I love my dad, and I love spending time with him. Catching a few fish is just icing on the cake. Plus, if it’s a big enough fish, I’ll enjoy him telling me about it the next time I go out with him.

So, do you enjoy fishing? If so, what’s your favorite part? What parts do you dislike? What activity do you enjoy doing with your parents? Here’s another glass of tea. Enjoy the refreshment and tell me all about it. ~clink~

